Writers’ League Elects New Board Members

The Writers’ League of Texas elected four new members to its board of directors and reelected three current directors at the organization’s meeting on October 16. The new members are:

  • Paco Ahlgren (above right), an Austin economist and financial analyst and author of the 2007 novel Discipline
  • Susan Blount (above left), marketing consultant, Austin
  • Dr. David F. Ciambrone (right), a mystery novelist and retired scientist and professor, Georgetown
  • Michele Kay, former business editor of the Austin American-Statesman and faculty member at St. Edward’s University, Austin

Three current board members were reelected to three-year terms:

  • Louis T. Brusatti, Dean of the School of Humanities at St. Edward’s University
  • Irma Flores-Manges, Austin Public Library branch manager
  • Evelyn Palfrey, a former Austin municipal court judge and author of four novels

The new and reelected directors begin their terms in January 2009

Board members who are stepping down include children’s author Kathi Appelt of College Station; Margarite Holt of Hill Country Bookstore in Georgetown; and Allen Whitley of Dell in Austin. Former board member Cyndi Hughes resigned from the board before being named the League’s new executive director.

Other board members include:

  • President Tweed Scott, author of Texas in Her Own Words, Houston
  • Vice President Jo Virgil of Barnes & Noble, Austin
  • Secretary Karen Trikilis of Minton, Burton, Foster & Collins, Austin
  • Treasurer Rick Guzman, attorney and children’s author, Round Rock
  • Eric Behrens, attorney at Graves, Dougherty, Hearon, & Moody, Austin
  • Laura Castro, University of Texas School of Law director of media relations, Austin
  • Harrison Cheung, IBM web editor and author, Austin
  • Rita Mills, author and publisher of the Book Connection, Houston
  • Laura Seaborn, CPA and president of the Writers Guild of Texas, Allen
  • Michael W. Stockham, attorney at Thompson & Knight, Dallas

For more on the WLT board of directors, please visit the Board page on the League’s Web site.

Search Scribe By Category
Email Subscription